top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
  • CottonInterior

On a Budget

As an Assistant Stage Manager, I do a lot of propping which is always on a budget. There is always a very specific design in mind when I am shopping for a show, and sometimes you find some treasures! Here are a few things that I have found while in charity shops markets.


I found these vintage Denby cups and saucers when in a charity shop and I couldn't leave without them! They are a perfect shade of green that will go with most things, but look especially good on wood - also a bargain at £8 for 3 in perfect condition.



Another purchase from the same trip was a very loud mustard wool blanket. I saw it in the shop and had to have it - yellow is not something that I would usually buy but it was dull enough that I could see it working well with wood tones and a deep blue. Also it was £3!



The final item from this trip was a wicker tray that was perfect for my living room coffee table. I have dressed it with a Jo Malone candle and other bits and bobs including a stone from a beach in Adelaide, bringing a bit of nature indoors. It was such an unusual shape and in really good condition, and for only £2 I knew I would find a place for it.



For under £20 - just by doing a bit of digging in some charity shops I found all of these lovely things that I use daily. Homeware doesn't have to be expensive, and as long as you are willing to search you can usually find some bargains!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page